1. Welcome To The Bushcraft Forum!

Welcome to The Bushcraft Forum, a friendly site for bushcraft and survival enthusiasts, registration is quick and easy and absolutely free.

We have a wide variety of features available to registered members so please take the time to register and join in the discussion. We restrict the viewing of certain areas of this site due to the nature of some of the topics, all these areas are available to registered members.

To register, simply click here.

Brand Names

Discussion in 'Kit Chat' started by Rob, Mar 9, 2012.

1. Rob

Rob Very Addicted

Does a piece of kit have to carry a Brand Name to make it good, Personally I think not, im not going to slag of any brand names for obvious reasons. Take the MOD issue Boot gortex lined pick them up for about £65.00 new, stick a little label on the side with a name on, all of a sudden £165.00. MOD issue sleeping bag same there. MOD issue bergan the same.the list is endless.

By Trade im a swiss trained watch and clock maker, Watches there are some top named brands out there that people pay strong money for the name, probably what they dont realize is that the movement in side is all made by the one company, then the movement is reserved solely for that top brand company

I feel that this is the probably the case in most of the brand name kit that we use in the buscraft scene. If its cheap and does what it says on the tin who gives a dam if it doesnt have a name or label stuck to it, they only fall of anyway.

2. Gazo

Gazo Administrator Staff Member Site Donor

I do like quality goods, I would rather pay a few quid more knowing it's going to last longer but the name does not bother me.
    When buying something I tend to go on recommendations and any reviews I can find on line, A few people saying how good or bad it is means more to me than a brand name for sure.